Sprockets 11/22/09

So apparently there’s this re-mastered, swanky new version of Susperia coming out on Blu-Ray. This may be the release that finally forces me to get off my can and get a PS3 if nothing else. Susperia is one of my all-time favorite films, certainly one of Argento’s most beautifully shot, and we’ve been cursed by pretty lousy transfers for years. Now if they can just release Blu-Rays of Black Sabbath and Battle Royale

Spike Jonze is pre-hyping Mark Romanek’s adaptation of Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Ishiguro is a writer I’ve always respected, but he’s a talent I’ve admired far more than I’ve enjoyed. There’s alot to recommend in Never Let Me Go, including an effectively subtle approach to the science fiction, but I grew restless with the story around the half-way mark and admit to never having made it through the final 50 pages or so. But Romanek’s One Hour Photo had a lot going for it, and I can see the potential for a beautiful film in the source material.

Twilight Saga: New Moon made a lot of money, reaffirming that a movie’s target audience doesn’t give a damn about critical opinion if they love the property enough.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. joeylabartunek

     /  November 25, 2009

    I’m glad to hear that Susperia is getting a new release, you are dead-on when you say every copy I’ve ever watched was just in terrible condition.

    I’m very curious to see if the Blu-Ray version does wonders for the film’s visuals.

    Reply
  2. joeylabartunek

     /  November 25, 2009

    Oh, and as near as I can figure, this whole Twilight thing is like a plague of frogs called down by the younger female demographic for decades of being completely ignored by or badly misrepresented by male-driven genre franchises.

    It’s not pleasant, but there are a lot of people out there who *really* deserved this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

